DUTCH GIRL




Other stuff to write about

2003-07-21 - 5:41 p.m.

Did you know that "heck" is the place that people go when they die if they don't belive in "gosh"?

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

So, day one of my promise to myself to not just write in here about LUUUV and how it's wrecking my life.

Now, of course, I have to think about what else to write ...

Work? Pretty boring for the most part. LLB and I did job interviews today to hire two new staff members. We found one for sure, and maybe another, if she'll come work for the pathetic coin we have to pay. It's funny how you know right away if someone's vibe, their personality, will be a good fit in the company. And that's so important for us. We're like a family in so many ways and every time we've hired the wrong person it's become a pretty disfunctional family pretty fast.

I didn't get much else done since I am still fielding so many phone calls about B and "the accident". I thought the reporter frenzie would be over after Friday, but now they're all calling looking for updates on his condition, to which I don't have much news. I had to laugh at myself on Sunday evening. I was in the bathroom at the Boston Pizza after our volley-ball game, having a pee and my cell phone rang. Whithout thinking about what I was doing, I answered it. Idiot! It was, of course, another reporter and there I was talking to him and afraid to flush the toilet, lest he know where I was.

The hard part of all of this is that I don't feel like I've really had much chance to process the whole thing myself because I've been so busy dealing with all the calls and emails and passing on the info about his condition. When I spoke to his wife today, and heard that he had taken a step backwards from the weekend, when he had been talking a little and eating a little and smiling, and was now just lying there in the bed today, I thought I was going to cry. That's so not like him. Especially not to talk. I guess that's normal for a brain injury, though. Good days and bad days.

The incidents of the past week (not even counting the LUUUV shit) have kind of staggered me. I really need for something good to happen soon.

Volley ball was good. We won two games. But it was fucking hot!

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

TOP 10 songs to take to a desert island:

1. Run Away Train by Rosanne Cash

2. Hey Jude by The Beatles

3. Little Red Corvette by Prince

4. Heros by David Bowie

5. Sexual Healing by Marvin Gaye

6. Call On Me by Bobbie Bland

7. Only Time by Enya

8. Vincent 52 by Richard Thompson

9. It's Not Unusual by Tom Jones

10. Joan Of Arc by Leonard Cohen

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.