DUTCH GIRL




The Brazilian

2003-08-02 - 1:01 a.m.

Well, there's nothing like a good night with your girlfiend .... that is, until it all goes dixie.

There we were, drinking beer and eating bad-for-you type snack foods, watching a movie - and then .... she pays a visit to the bathroom, snoops around a little, and finds the sugaring kit that I use to remove that unsightly hair from my upper lip (though not recently, since it gives me a wicked rash).

Having watched WAY too much SEX IN THE CITY lately (we've all seen the one where Carrie get's a "Brazilian", right?), my dear friend suddenly decides that that she just has to give herself one - tonight! With my sugaring kit.

Okay - don't read past here if you're squeemish or prudish.

We read the instructions, with me saying "are you SURE you want to do this? It needs to be pretty hot, plus it, like, totally RIPS out the hair." Her replying that "it says it's fine for bikini waxes." I fruitlessly tried to point out the different between a bikini wax and a brazilian, but my words fell on deaf and determined ears.

So off she goes, into the bathroom, with my advice to "clip as much as possible" ringing in her ears. I go off downstairs to check my email, only to be called back upstairs with a desperate cry of "Jo, it's not working".

After much delicate conversation, I determine that the basic problem is that she's afraid to pull off the strips hard enough to have any real affect. By now, there's hot sugar all over her and my bathroom. And we're laughing hysterically and drinking tequilla, for her to dull the pain and for me to ... well ... I guess just add another level of hilariousness to the already crazy evening.

Well, all I can say now is that I'm WAY too well aquainted with my friend, having determined that the only way to remedy the situation was for me to yank off the strips. 'Cause by this time she'd already committed herself and didn't want to end up looking like some kind of half bald cancer victim.

About an hour and a half bottle of tequilla later we ended up with something that we called "the Puetro Rican" rather than the "Brazilian" (no nasty racial slurs intended folks). But a lot of laughs and discussion of just how far you'll go for your friends.

In my list of 25 Things That Make Me happy that I posted earlier today, I mentioned "spending time with my dear friends". I'm not sure that this is what I had in mind, but it also satisfied the one that said "laughing until the back of my head hurts". God I love my girlfriends.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.