DUTCH GIRL




my friend the super hero

2003-08-03 - 2:34 p.m.

Boy, life is just one piece of excitement after another these days, I tell ya.

S and I went out to see our friends Kurt and Suzanne last night. They've had a baby recently and moved way out in the suburbs and I haven't seen much of them and miss them.

So S and I piled in the car for the long drive from downtown to the burbs. We kept talking about our trip to 'the country". I guess we don't get out of the downtown core very often. Had to stop for gas and everything! Yikes.

Anyhow, another friend came over as well and we were all having a lovely suburban evening on their deck, drinking beer, enjoying the cooler temperatures and playing some silly board game. Even convinced Kurt to phone in sick to work for today so he could stay up late and hang with us.

Round about 3 in the morning everyone else had gone inside and Suzanne and I are sitting there talking, and we see these 5 young men walking down the other side of the street, by the lane of parked cars, and suddenly one of them leaps to the hood of a stationwagon and leaps with both feet up onto the windshield, shattering it big time. He leaps down off the car, laughing and they just keep strolling along.

Now if there's anything that pissed me off more than senseless vandalism, I can't think what it would be. It makes my blood boil to see people wrecking other people's stuff just because it's "something to do". I sometimes think about capital punishment for these people.

I guess Suzanne feels the same way, because before I know it, she's on her feet yelling "Hey!" and then she's over the railing of the deck and chasing after these guys, as they begin to run down the train tracks. Holy shit, there are 5 of them and one of her. Brave, but foolish.

So I'm yelling for Kurt to get out here quick and bring the phone, which he does. He's like "what's going on" and I say "I'm calling the cops. Go after your wife. Now! We'll explain later". He goes running after her and I dial 911. I'm talking to the cops and describing what's happening - "Yes I can see my friend now, her husband's with her, wait, she's coming back ... wait ... she has two of the guys with her..."

Bless her fussy little slippers (which she ran after them in) she's talked two of the young men into coming back with her to tell the cops what happened, since they weren't the one who jumped on the car. I can't belive it. She had grabbed the one guy, who was in her face going "get your hand off me" and she let him go and said "alright, I'm going to ask you politely to come back with me" and oddly enough, he said "okay". The other guy was being more of a dink, but Suz just said "be a man and come back with your friend" and he did too.

By this time, there are 3 cop cars pulling up (wow - quick response for a call about vandalism, I'm impressed). They talk to the two guys and then eventually come back to our patio for statements from me and Suzanne. The cop tells her she's brave but stupid to chase after them like that. She knows, but she's proud of herself all the same, and I am too.

The cops were able to get the name and address of the guy who did it, so he's pretty likely to have to face up to his stupid asshole actions. And the guy who's windshield got smashed isn't just going to come out in the morning and discover somebody wrecked his stuff while he was sleeping and have to go through that horrible feeling all day that some faceless stranger violated you. He can feel better that someone reported it and the jerk is going to have to face the music, even just a little.

So, SCREW YOU EVIL VANDALS!! You're not safe as long as there are Super Women like Suzanne out there in the world!

It almost makes it worth the fact that once again, I didn't get to bed until 5 in the morning. Yawn.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.