DUTCH GIRL




random thoughts of the day

2003-08-07 - 11:41 a.m.

My arms and chest hurt like stink from the gym yesterday. It's extra hard to work out when you're tired and hung-over and emotionally drained, but I'm glad I did it anyhow.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

I'm not looking forward to this whole weekend stretching before me with big empty spaces in it where I can sit around and feel bad about my messed up life. People keep telling me I should spend some time concentrating on myself and all that stuff, but I don't know if I know how to do that and I'm not sure spending a lot of time "thinking" is going to be the best for me right now. So I'm trying to plan some things that can fill up the weekend but still be good for me. Here's what I'm thinking so far:

1. Clean the house. It really needs a good swamping out and that'll definately make me feel better about life.

2. Finish my book and start a new one.

3. Saturday - Shanny and I talked about going to the mountains, but that can be pretty expensive, unless we just want to sit on a rock and look at pretty vistas all day. So ... I'm thinking lunch out, maybe some window shopping and a trip to a spa for a massage or a mud-wrap or something. Still a little pricey, but cheaper than a day in Banff. Plus I don't know how well my car would do on a longer drive right now.

4. A trip to the Farmer's Market to buy really good produce.

5. Drinks with Grant, since I haven't done that in ages.

6. Maybe a Euchre night with Shari and Trevor (Euchre being the best card game EVER).

See, that's all positive thinking. No getting hideously drunk and making weepy inappropriate phone calls for this girl!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

I'm also thinking I need to get a hobby. Something that doesn't involve drinking, smoking or sleeping with unavailable men. I usually list reading as a hobby, cause I like to read, and books are good, but that feels just a little too escapist right now. Something to let me hide from my problems.

So, I'm thinking about these possibilities, and keeping myself open for other suggestions.

- Knitting? Shanny has been doing that and it looks pretty cool, although I don't know if I have the patience. Worth a try though.

- Painting? I used to love making art when I was a kid, and took art classes in college, but somewhere along the line I stopped. I have paints at home, so I wouldn't have to invest in a whole pile of stuff to start.

- Movie making? Who am I kidding.

- Furniture making? Expensive supplies. No room.

Hmmm ... I'm not really great on thinking up potential hobbies. I'll have to give it more thought.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.