DUTCH GIRL




Apocalypse right now?

2003-08-14 - 7:03 p.m.

What's going on? I feel a little like the end of the world is approaching. Okay, I know that's just silly, but I was driving home from work and the whole skyline of the city is completely hazed out by all of the smoke from the forest fires west and south of here. The air is filled with that burning smell and, whereas usually on a sunny day like today you can see the mountains so clearly from the bluff at the top of the hill I live on, now all that's visible is that funny, smoky, golden haze. It's just weird. And then I come home and turn on the computer and read about the big backout in the east. Couple that with all the general free-floating anxiety and guilt I feel these days and it feels like something bad is in the air. I feel like I should take a deep breath and try to relax, but I'd probably choke on all the smoke.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.