DUTCH GIRL




Pack a lunch, we're going to the suburbs.

2003-08-16 - 12:17 p.m.

I love my friends, but what's with this need to get married, have a baby and buy a house way out in the boonies - the SUBURBS?

Okay, getting married I can understand (even if it's not working out so great for me). Having a baby I can understand. But the suburbs? Please. I feel like I need to pack a snack every time I get in the car to drive out to one of these places. I guess I'm just an inner-city girl at heart. Never in my entire life have I even lived further than 15 minutes from downtown.

All the houses look alike. There's nothing around but other homes that look like yours and strip malls. Sure, they're big, mostly new houses, and I know they cost a lot less than the old little inner-city houses, but they have so little character. And life out there is pretty white-washed.

The party last night was fun, but it was out in the burbs. A 20 to 25 minute drive, on two major freeways. So not a party where you wanted to stay long or drink much. A cab fare would have been prohibitive, so everybody drove and the party broke up at 1:00am. Poor Grant was standing in his back yard going "What's going on. Stay and drink more beer." But we couldn't, because we all had to drive the miles and miles back home.

If I ever lose my mind and entertain the idea of moving to a big house in the suburbs, somebody had better promise to kill me.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.