DUTCH GIRL




This day had 17 hours.

2003-09-24 - 1:02 a.m.

It was a full day today.

I got up at 7:30 and was at the gym for a workout by 8:30. Oh my god, that's early. And I was tired. But it felt good. Then off to the office for a production meeting at 10.

By noon I was sleeping soundly on the couch in the green-room. I guess I needed a nap, cause I slept the entire hour through the show. Snoring and everything, according to Marcie (the Stage Manager).

After that, a quick lunch with R (I'm now going to refer to him as "Dogbert", the little nick-name Shanny has bestowed on him). And then rehearsal of the new play.

It's going well, actually. I like the script, although it has it's little weaknesses. And the actors are great. It's like this part was written for Shanny. She's going to be brilliant. And Trev is finding his stride. And Dogbert will be great, too. He just has to let himself go and be comfortable with the over-the-top comedy. I know he can do it, and it's different for him. Something no-one has seen him do here. He just has to embrace his inner clown.

After rehearsal, we went for a quick drink, and then off to the bar to check on progress and do some work. No painting today, as we had hoped, but lots of people there to pitch in. Shari and Marcie and Mark and Ken and Norm and Hernan and a number of other folks. I walked in and Shari said "Jessie has gone to buy new taps. He said you could tell people what to do". Which I am actually good at, but none the less, it was daunting. I started by taking the dry-wall stuff out of her hand and setting it in Dogbert's, saying "here, he knows how to do this, let him run with it." He spent the rest of the night in the men's bathroom, finishing the mudding. I got Ken up on a ladded, finishing cleaning the wood work, and Mark and Shari cleaning the metal tree, and some other guy swamping out the coolers and then I settled in for a beer.

I guess I really am good at organizing. By the time Jessie got back, I had work for almost everyone. We cleaned and moved and primed until about 10:30 and then sat around and had a couple of beers. And then I drove Dogbert home. He was all covered in dry-wall plaster by then, and for some reason I found that incredibly sexy. I hate getting dirty myself, but there is something about a dirty boy .... as long as it's not a "smelly" dirty boy, of course. That's just gross.

And now I'm ready to fall down. A long day, but a pretty good one. Today, I'm okay with the world.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.