DUTCH GIRL




Thoughts for today.

2003-09-26 - 10:27 p.m.

I'm hanging at home on this lovely Friday night, making a really big-ass pot of chili. Tomorrow is the closing performance of our show (the next one opens a week from Monday) and I'm having the gang over for chili and corn bread in the evening. Hopefully, it'll be a nice little closing party. Maybe the guitars will even come out. That would be fun.

I have trepidation about tomorrow. My old boss and his wife, who have also been long time friends, are arriving tomorrow and will be seeing the closing show. He's the one who got hurt in the accident a few months ago (see this entry). He's been recovering from a serious brain injury and he's doing really well, but it will be the first time I've seen him in ages. I've spoken to him once on the phone since it happened, and I broke down and cried for quite a while afterwards. I just don't know what it's going to be like tomorrow. I'm worried that he might not be the same person I've know and loved (and who's annoyed the shit out of me, and made me laugh) for so long. I'm worried that he might not remember me in the same way. I'm worried that things will be different if we don't share the same memories of things any more.

I think rehearsals for the new play are going well. We worked pretty intensively today, breaking down moments and going over and over them. It's tiring work, but I think it was worth while. We'll see what happens when we string it all together tomorrow afternoon for a first run-through. The fun part was putting all this cool music under monolgues and other bits today. I've picked out these funky 50's pieces of music and they really jazz up the scenes. Plus they give the actors something really neat to work off in their monologues.

Well, I guess I better go back to finishing the chili or I'm going to be up all night, plus I guess I had better do some house cleaning if I intend to entertain people in this dump tomorrow.

Oh yeah. T leaves tomorrow for two weeks on the road. I have to admit that I'm looking forward to having some me time again.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

So, it's now 2:00 in the morning. The chili is done - 2 pots, actually, one with meat and one without. It's great chili, if I do say so myself. The house is semi-clean (toilet and sink scrubbed, larger pieces of furniture dusted, dishes washed). I also managed to watch the first 2 episodes of season six of Sex and the City, which I had taped. The bad part is that I drank 2 large glasses of vanilla diet coke and the caffeine is going to keep me up all freakin' night. So I'll be real tired and look like shit for a long day tomorrow which ends with a party at my house. Plus my stomach is now making all kinds of scary sounds. Ah well, thank god I can sleep as long as I want, with the bed ALL TO MYSELF, on Sunday.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.