DUTCH GIRL




I need some kind of a shopping intervention.

2003-09-28 - 7:08 p.m.

We're BAD girls, Shanny and I.

Yes, we are.

We went shopping this afternoon and spent money we couldn't afford to spend, on things we don't really need.

But it made us feel good.

Oh yes it did.

I bought 2 more pairs of shoes ('cause, see, I really needed more shoes. Really.) Payless had a "buy two pairs, get a third pair for free" sale, so that meant 2 pairs of shoes for me (one very cute pair of little red slip-on pumps and one pair of high-heeled brown ankle boots) and one lovely pair of light brown 40's style pumps for Shanny. All for $64. Who could resist that, I ask you?

And I got some lovely lilac nail polish, and a pair of socks, and some really expensive soap, and some leave-in intensive hair treatment, and Oil of Olay daily facial stuff, and hair clips. And the new Jewel CD. And the DVD of "A Mighty Wind".

And my favorite purchase? A navy tee-shirt that says "I'm sort of like a Superhero, but without powers or motivation" on it.

I didn't pay my $400 cell phone bill yet, though. After I pay that tomorrow, I'm going to be very broke. But damn, I'll look fine. Shanny and I will be the cutest broke girls you've ever seen.

Now I'm going to go curl up on the sofa and watch "What a Girl Wants". I'm sure it's going to be a gacky teen-age girl movie, but it has the dreamy Colin Firth in it, so it's all good.

By the way, all you d-land gals should so read this book called Why Girls Are Weird. It's a lovely, funny novel about on-line journal writing.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.