DUTCH GIRL




Giving Thanks

2003-10-13 - 2:38 p.m.

Ah, there's nothing like going out fro breakfast at noon.

I slept late for the first time in weeks, not waking up until almost 11am. After stripping the bed, throwing the bedding in the wash, and cleaning out the fridge in preparation for some grocery shopping, T suggested that he take me out for breakfast. Nice.

We went to the Blackfoot Truck Stop, one of the world's truly fine places for all day breakfast. The parking lot out front is always loaded with big rigs. The decor of the place is early last millenium, with red vinyl booths and worn melmac tables. All of the waitresses are over 50, and the cashier is at least 70 and her name is Elvira. There's a large sized model train that runs around the room at ceiling level and a juke box that plays country music all day. And you can get eggs, bacon, hashbrowns, pancakes and toast for $5. My tummy is seriously over full now and I still have to eat Thanksgiving dinner at 5pm.

There were a few long silences over breakfast. Funny, I used to think how nice it was that we could sit in silence and not have to talk all the time. Now I worry that it's because after a few minutes we have nothing left to say to each other anymore.

After the Truck Stop, we did a little grocery shopping, the first I've done in 3 weeks. There was very very little left in the fridge besides the assorted 75 kinds of condiments. Now we have real food. I guess I'll have to come home after work from time to time to eat some of it.

I'm going to go read my book for a while before we have to go off to the hell of "family holiday dinner". I know some people really enjoy family holidays, but my family is way too much of a pain in the ass to really enjoy it. I tolerate it, sometimes even don't mind it so much, but never want to stay any longer than I have to. Luckily, Jessie is having a Thanksgiving feast at the bar tonight, and while we won't be able to make it for the meal, we're going to head down later for dessert and drinks and get to close off the holiday as it should be, with good friends (who mostly feel far more like my true family than my family does).

So, on this day of giving thanks, here's what I'm trying to be thankful for:

- The magnificent friends I have in my life.

- Breakfast at noon at the Blackfoot.

- The baby my sister is soon to have.

- A job that I like doing most of the time (certainly more than I don't like doing it), and something that i consider to be a career or a calling rather than a way to pay the bills.

- A family that makes me crazy but who love me none the less.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.