DUTCH GIRL




Holly Hobby

2003-10-21 - 12:33 p.m.

I'm proud of myself.

I've officially developed two new hobbies.

Knitting.

And drumming.

The knitting is going well and I love it. I finished my first scarf and I'm wel into a second one. I might even try something more complicated next.

The the drumming? Way fun. And I'm actually not too bad at it. Who knew.

I had my second lesson last night. Trevor is teaching me on a full kit and he keeps showing me harder and harder rides, because I keep picking them up so fast. Last night we moved on to some complicated 16th note rides. Making your left hand, your right hand and your right foot all do different things is hard and makes my brain hurt, but it's not as hard as I thought it would be. The only draw back is not having a kit to practice on, so he's got me coming up to his place on Sunday to practice for a while before another lesson next Monday.

Last night turned in to quite a fun evening. I was feeling kind of blah in the morning. I don't quite know why, maybe just because it was Monday. Went for lunch after the show and then to the reading of the next new play, which started rehearsing yesterday. I'm not directing this one, since I start directing at one of the bigger theatres next Tuesday, so I just had to stay for the reading and the design presentation. And then I went home for a couple of hours and then on the Trevor and Shari's for drumming lessons and band practice.

Shari and I usually hang around during band practice and have a couple of beers and a visit. She sometimes sings a couple of songs with them. Yesterday, she wasn't there when I got there, but Trevor said she was at a meeting and should be home by 8:30 and I was welcome to wait around for her. I was debating whether or not to stay when R started asking me if I was leaving and saying I should stay around. Which, of course, made up my mind for me. I'm a sucker for feeling that my presence is wanted.

So I stayed around in their living room, knitting, until Shari got home, and then we hung out and gabbed until about 10. Then we got bored, and the guys were supposed to be finishing up at 10 anyways, so we decided to aid the process and ended up putting on little puppet shows involving a beaver puppet, a platypus puppet and several pairs of Shari's thong underwear (going with the whole band/groupie theme) at the garage windows while they were trying to play their last song. We were bad, but it was darn funny.

After band practice, we all went for beer at the local pub and stayed way too late. I drove R home about 1am and we had a very interesting conversation in the car. He amazes me sometime with his ability to see me so clearly and understand why I do and say the things I do sometimes. I guess that's one of the reasons I keep gravitating towards him even when I know it's so bad for both of us in so many ways. It's just unusual for me to find someone who understands me and is kind and sympathetic to me about some of those things, without lecturing me and trying to "fix" me.

Well, back to the knitting now. Time's a-wasting.

4:30pm

Just stuck my head into the rehearsal hall to see how all that's going. Did I mention I feel weird about the fact that this is the first play of the season I'm not directing? Anyhow, it did my heart good. Nothing like hearing two of your favorite actors in the entire world reading a damned funny play that's all about witty verbosity and timing. They rock!!!!

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.