DUTCH GIRL




Sad emails and Virginia Woolf

2003-10-22 - 10:59 a.m.

I got this email today. I made me very sad.

"Oh J.,

What a sweet, caring email. As a matter of fact, I'm a little worried about me, too. I realize how truly blessed our life was until this event. Alone is exactly how I feel right now. B has always been both my lover and my very best friend. I've lost that person in a way - at least for the moment. The new B is a wonderful guy but I miss the old B. He does seem to be coming back more and more each day. But part of the problem is that I can't discuss B with the one person I discuss everything with -

B! (When he was in the hospital. I would come home and have the impulse to look for B to tell him about B, weird.)

Thanks so much for the kind words, J. I would love to talk things over with you on a more personal basis. At the moment, my days are spent in rehab. But maybe we can find a moment. I do think it would help. It's awfully hard to be strong all the time.

Love & thanks,

M."

What a terrible thing it is to lose your partner in that way. He's recovering well from his brain injury, but he's not the same person he was before, and might never be. It's like some part of him is gone forever. And I feel so sad for her. I wish I lived closer and could help more in some way.

In other news, T and I went to a production of Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf last night, directed by one of my good friends. Three out of the four actors are also people I know really well. And it was a big disappointment, which was tough. I love the play and have read it several times, as well as seeing the movie several times. It was hard not to compare it to Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton's performances. In fact, impossible, since I found myself comparing all the time. The thing is, that play relies on Martha and George being abe to spar with each other, always playing their cruel, cruel games and never really showing each other (or the audience) how much they actual manage to hurt each other. In this production, they were both wounded and bleeding all over the place and it just didn't work for me. It's hard to see people you know and respect make such a mess of things. It also doesn't help that I've always wanted to direct that play myself.

If you've never seen the movie, check it out. It's amazing.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.