DUTCH GIRL




Tuesday ramblings.

2003-10-28 - 10:07 p.m.

We started work on the new play today. This is the highest profile directing gig I've had so far. A fairly large theatre with a decent budget and a large(ish) staff. There were about 35 people at the meet-and-greet/read-through this morning, which impressed the shit out of me, since my whole company is a staff of 10.

It's going to be serious fun. All four of the actors in it are great, really funny, and friends that I like to hang out with. The play is this funny, crazy, lovely piece about 2 kids growing up in the late 70's and early 80's, addicted to the Star Wars movies. I directed it once before, last fall, and had a blast. I was pretty happy with how it turned out then, and it's great to get to re-visit it again, but with more resources (read: a bigger budget) this time. The set is going to be just wild.

It would have been a perfect day, except for 1.) I was super tired from staying up too late and drinking too much beer because it afforded me time to spend with R, whom I'm not likely to see again this week, and 2.) it started to freaking snow this afternoon! I'm soooooo not ready for it to be winter yet.

On the bright side, I got paid for the gig today and have money in my bank account again for the first time in weeks. I must avoid the overwhelming desire to go shopping for useless things I really don't need.

And now I'm going to go upstairs and try to finish knitting my scarf, since it appears to be winter and I'm going to need to wear it soon, damn it all.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.