DUTCH GIRL




Knit, shoot, knit, shoot.

2003-11-28 - 12:21 p.m.

I've been thinking about what an obsessive personality I have. Or maybe addictive. Or maybe they're both the same thing. Anyhow ...

I've become totally addicted to playing Big Buck Hunter. I'm wicked with a big plastic shot gun aimed at a big computer screen. I can kill Bambi's daddy over and over like nobodies business. Yesterday, I scored 7000 and some points, which is pretty darned good. And kicked R's ass. It totally bugs him to get his ass kicked at a shooting game by a girl, which cracks me up. He's unbelievably competitive and I can't help but rub his face in my superior shooting power. But we've played so much in the last 3 days that my arm is killing me. And every time I walked by the bar, it's all I can do to restrain myself from wondering in for a quick game. See - totally obsessive.

The other thing I want to do non-stop right now is knit. I've become a knitting freak. I'm on my second project this week, with two more lined up (I'm going to attempt a sweater next - yikes) and all I want to do in the evenings when I get home is knit until I can't see straight. And I dream about going back to the wool store for more beautiful wool.

Sometimes this obsessiveness worries me. In my series of dumb-ass conversations with Grant last week, one of the things he accused me of was being like that with people. Someone new (he refered to them as "the new shiney things") captures my attention and I spend all my time with them, ignoring my old friends. Now I don't think this is entirely true, but it does have some truth in it. I do obsess about certain people and want to spend all my time with them. Is this wrong?

Anyhow, at least I'm not obsessing and getting addicted to, say, crack cocaine. That's got to mean something.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.