DUTCH GIRL




Sick Days

2003-12-08 - 3:08 p.m.

I'm home sick today. I spent all day yesterday (and plan to spend all day today) in my pajamas, under a fluffy blanket on the sofa, knitting and watching TV. I've decided I have, have, have to get rid of this damned cold/flu bug. It's been hanging on for three weeks now. Just when I think it's gone, I wake up all stuffy and coughing and with my eyes all red and runny. Sounds attractive, non?

I think the reason I haven't been able to shake the stupid thing is a lack of ability to get a decent sleep. For weeks now, I don't think that I've slept more than 3 or 4 hours in a row. Some nights I wake up almost every hour. I don't know how I can possibly get healthy again until I've had some good, recuperative sleep, hence the decision to stay home and in pjs for 2 days. I'm hoping that will promote some sleepage, although so far no so much. I went to bed at 11:30 last night, but woke up at about 5 am and was up for good by 7:15. This is so not my usual sleep pattern. I can usually sleep for 8 or 9 hours with no trouble at all. Tonight, I'm taking the last of my codeine pills and hoping for the best, since I can't afford to take another day off work.

Part of the reason for the trouble sleeping may be that I'm feeling stressed about being behind in so many things at work. That never adds to a feeling of relaxation and contentment. And it might not help that my personal life is always such a tangle, either. Add to that fits of coughing in the middle of the night and what do you get ... no sleep for the Dutch Girl.

But it was nice to lie on the couch all day yesterday. I knitted a lovely green hat for Adam, to go with the scarf I'm almost finished making him, finished reading my book (Your Mouth is Lovely - very good book, I highly recommend it), started a new book, watched two DVDs (Bruce Almighty - fun, and I enjoyed watching Jim Carey do a slightly more reigned in performance - and Pirates of the Caribbean - Johnny Depp is great and the sword fights were the coolest) and ordered chinese food for dinner.

Now, I'm going to go nap while my husband makes me dinner. It's cold outside and the sky and the ground are all one colour. A good day to be home in bed.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.