DUTCH GIRL




Christmas already? Wasn't it just June?

2003-12-14 - 1:35 a.m.

I'm struggling with the fact that I'm just not feeling Christmas-y this year.

I can't believe it's only 12 days away. I haven't bought a single present, and I don't have the urge, which is SOOO not like me. I love shopping and usually can't wait to get out there and spend, spend, spend. and the thought of having to rearrange the living room and put up a tree just makes me tired.

How-some-ever, these are the things I am looking forward to about the holiday season:

1. Having some real time off work. I've stocked up on wool and novels and plan to hole up in my pjs and read and knit for several days.

2. The Christmas Eve cast party I'm going to be throwing for the folks from my last show. We're going to eat and drink and play Pop-culture Trivial Pursuit and fun stuff like that.

3. Seeing B. He's been back home, not feeling so great and it will be nice to spend a little time with him and give him a big hug.

4. My birthday, which is in 15 days.

And then there are the things I'm not looking forward to:

1. Obligatory Christmas functions.

2. The shopping I still haven't done (and I have no idea what to get people).

3. Not seeing R for 3 whole weeks (the longest we will have not seen or spoken to each other for 10 months). He's going home to see his little girl, which is totally great, but there's going to be some serious withdrawl to deal with.

4. The work I still have to get done before I can put in the serious knitting, reading and sleeping time.

I have to do something to get myself into the whole Christmas thing. But what? A little shopping? A little wrapping? Maybe dressing myself up like an elf? I don't know. T just picked up a great Christmas album by The Blind Boys of Alabama. I think I may have to listen to it non-stop for the next couple of days. Maybe that will work.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.