DUTCH GIRL




she's up, she's down, she's all around ...

2003-12-19 - 12:44 p.m.

I can't decide if it's me, or the time of year, or what, but my mood changes every couple of hours. And it's not even "that time of the month" - just dramatic mood swings.

This morning, I was feeling pretty great. After work last night, I went to Shanny's place and we exchanged gifts and watched a movie and knitted and snacked out on tortilla chips and melted cheese dip. It was a lovely evening, and not even really dampened by Shanny having to deal with her ex dropping by to bring her some of her stuff (the wrong stuff, as it turned out).

Both being the queens of shopping that we are (with amazing good taste, to boot), the presents totally rocked. Shanny gave me this really beautiful pendant, all blue and gold and shiney and pretty, plus a lovely piece of art she made herself and a set of "Cat People" tarot cards. I loved all the gifts so much. I gave her black pokka-dot over the knee high socks and a set of funny vintage 50's postcards.

I finished my xmas present for R, which is a set of laminated "gift certificates" that I made, for things like a hug when he feels low, something I will knit for him of his choice, dinner sometime in the new year, etc. I'm pretty happy with it - it fits all the qualifications he layed down - no money spent, something I made, and (hopefully) something he won't feel he can't reciprocate.

Anyhow, as I came to work this morning, I was feeling pretty up beat. An hour here and I'm all grumpy again. People are snappish due to holiday stress. There's tension at work. R is all grumpy and scrooge-like (which doesn't make me want to give his lovely gift) and currently, as I'm writing this, I'm listening to two of my staff members in the next office having a meeting where they're talking over each other and not listening and it makes my blood pressure rise just to hear it.

Thank god I only have a few more days before I get to hide away in my house and refuse to deal with people. Only 5 more sleeps to go and then ... freedom ... if only for a few days.

Later that same day ....

Yeah, see - mood swings. 10am - Happy and lively, 1:00pm - Cranky and touchy, 4:30pm - Needy and vulnerable. What the heck is up with that?

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.