DUTCH GIRL




Ow. Ow. Ow.

2004-02-23 - 12:16 p.m.

Apparently, if you stop working out for three weeks, your muscles atrophy. Or at least that's what it feels like this morning.

I couldn't get to the gym for three weeks because I was busy with a crazy rehearsal schedule, and Christy (my trainer) only has certain hours she can be there, and I can't go without her to this particular gym, since it's a personal training gym only. Plus it was 40 below out which made getting there (while we're down to one car) really difficult. I know I could have been working out at home in my basement, but ... okay... I didn't.

So yesterday my friend Jamie, who is also now doing personal training, came over and did a session with me and T. He set specific home workouts for both of us, which was great. He's going to help me train to run a marathon.

I'm now a girl with not one, but two personal trainers. One for the gym and one for home. How crazy is that? But whatever works, right? And I can use all the help I can get, since I need to take off the 15 or so pounds I've put on since Christmas and then get down to losing the other 40 pounds I need to lose.

I guess I also need to stop drinking so much beer if I'm going to get to where I want to get. Damn. I like drinking beer. Why does it have to be fattening?

I didn't even work out all that hard yesterday. I just mostly showed Jamie a series of exercises that I know how to do at home with the limited gym equipment that I have there, and he modified some stuff and showed me some harder stuff that works more core muscles and increases your range of motion.

This morning I can hardly walk. My thigh muscles feel like they're going to snap in two. And the muscles between my shoulder blades are screaming at me.

I really need to go soak in a hot bath. Instead, I'm trapped in front of this computer, putting off starting the really long grant application I need to have done by the end of the week. I suppose I could use the excuse that I can't move my arms to delay starting until tomorrow.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.