DUTCH GIRL




people vs. no people

2004-03-22 - 12:42 p.m.

I got an email this morning from my trainer (who is also my friend), entitled "missing my awol gal". It made me realize I haven't been to the gym in 6 weeks. Fuck. No wonder my jeans feel so damned tight around my waist today. I better get back there before I'm a huge blimp again (instead of the medium-sized blimp I am right now).

And walking to work. That would be good. The weather is really pretty nice right now, and it's a 30 minute walk, which is just perfect. So tomorrow, I walk. No matter what! I reallt can't stand the idea of losing progress on all my hard work of last spring and summer.

In other news, I really enjoyed my "me" day yesterday. Other than coffee with my mom in the morning and two phone calls from Shanny, I didn't have to deal with a single other human being all day. It was glorious. I wrote emails, read my book, cleaned the kitchen, made pork tenderloin for myself for dinner, watched an A&E movie about Charles II and almost finished Barb's sweater. The only downside was having to get up this morning and deal with the rest of the world. I'm really good a hibernation sometimes. I really get into a headspace and rythm for it and then other people just bug me.

Ah well, life is full of other people, so I had better just get used to it. Unless I want to go live on an island somewhere. It has a certain appeal, but who am I kidding. I'd eventually get bored and lonely. Especially if I didn't have books and movies and yarn. And I'd crave the occasional cocktail with friends.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.