DUTCH GIRL




The best day of the week.

2004-03-26 - 4:24 p.m.

Ah Friday.

Friday.

That day that comes at the end of the week.

The one that signals that you have a couple of days of not having to be at work. Such an optimistic day.

So different from Monday. That day that seems full of dread because it's the beginning of a whole week of work ahead of you before you see Friday again.

This has been a pretty good Friday, or at least so far. I started off the day with breakfast with my friend Glenda. We do this about once a month - meet up around 9:30 and have breakfast in the restaurant downstairs, where you can have eggs benny and coffee for 6 bucks. Not bad. And we chat about work and life. Very pleasant.

And then I came up to the office and sat around and basically did nothing. I had finally finished Barb's sweater last night and I brought it in for her today. She LOVED it. Hugged me about 10 times and told me how brilliant I was to be able to make something like that. It made me feel so good to see her smile and laugh, after what she's been going through with her Dad's death.

We sat in the green room and listened with horror to Ryan's stories about the other play he's rehearsing right now, while doing our play. For another theatre company in the city. It's being directed by this girl who's a nice enough person, but a super dumb-dumb. I can never figure out how she gets any work. His stories about their rehearsals are unbelieveable. They're doing Margaret Atwood's The Edible Woman, and she just doesn't get it. AT ALL. It's not like it's rocket science. And yesterday, she told Ryan, who's doing an English accent for the play, tat he had to be careful about saying the word "can't". She was freaking out because when he said it with his english accent it sounded vaguely like "cunt" and she was squirming around saying "Ewww. You can't say it that way. It sounds dirty". OH. MY. GOD. We laughingly refer to his rehearsals as "dumb-dumb land".

I actually got some work done between noon and 3, but by 3 it seemed silly to start anything new, since the day was more than half way over and it's Friday, after all. So I've been sitting here, basically screwing the pooch, waiting for Laura Lee to get back from where ever she went this afternoon, so we can go for a beer, since it's her birthday.

Friday after work beer. Mmmmm.... It's the best. As long as I don't let one or two become 12 and end up trying to phone foreign countries again at 2 in the morning.

The plan ... yes, there's a plan ... is for a few after work cocktails, and then home to cook the prok roast defrosting on my counter, crack open a bottle of wine, and watch the final episode of Sex and the City, which is just airing here in Canada now.

I love Fridays.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.