DUTCH GIRL




A weather report.

2004-04-01 - 12:33 p.m.

It's actually one of my favorite kind of weather days, although I think most people would think I'm wacko.

It's just above the freezing mark (so for April 1 in Calgary, not all that cold) and raining/snowing. Very light snow, mostly just lumpy rain.

Maybe I like it so much because it's moisture. It's been so damned dry here that most days I feel like I'm going just dry up and blow away. The last month of two my skin itches and stings all the time, no matter how much moisturizer I put on. So the moisture in the air today is a darn good thing. Makes my hair feel soft (although afro-curly).

I woke up early this morning and had my morning tea in bed while reading my book for half and hour before getting up. What a nice way to start the day. The only problem was that I could have happily stayed home, curled up with me book and my cats, all day. Instead I had to drag myself in here to the factory of art.

Ah well, I'm planning to leave early this afternoon. My hubby will finally by home later this afternoon, after three extra days out of town while the damned van was being fixed.

I'm poor and soon going to be car-less, and I'm so not used to this state. Thank god it's going to be fairly temporary. Between extra bills last month and all the $$ T and I have had to spend on cars, we're both well into our overdrafts. I've paid rent this morning, and after buying a few groceries this afternoon, I'll have about $100 to last me two weeks. That should be okay, unless you had the kind of spending habits I usually have. I new book here, a new CD there, drinks once or twice a week, usually involving buying a drink or two for a friend or two (I'm generous that way and have a lot of friends who are poorer than I am). Anyhow, $100 usually lasts me about 3 or 4 days. Not this time, though! I forsee a lot of staying home and reading in my immeadiate future.

I think I'm going to go outside on the balcony now and enjoy the rainy but not too cold day, while having a smoke.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.