DUTCH GIRL




Fame. It's not all it's cracked up to be.

2004-04-25 - 10:50 p.m.

My friend Howard is staying with us this week. He's an old friend, and he's in town to do a workshop at my theatre.

He's also the voice-over guy for the national Boston Pizza commercials. Any Boston Pizza ad you see on TV or hear on radio in Canada, that's my friend Howard's voice, saying shit like "you're among friends at Boston Pizza".

So, we get home tonight at about 10:30. It's a sunday night, and we want to order food. Nothing is open. After about 15 phone calls, without thinking, I call Boston Pizza. Howard starts to laugh. Realizing the comedy of the situation, when the young pimply-faced boy answers the phone, I ask him if there's a discount for delivering pizza to the voice-over guy. He says "hang on a second" and then I hear him talking to folks in the background, saying "cool, we're sending pizza to the home of the guy who does our voice on the phone". He comes back on the line, and I say "no, the guy who does the voice on your national TV commercials". He's all "Really? Cool. Hang on. (then in the background) Seriously, we're sending pizza to the national TV commercial guy." Eventually, I place the order and hang up.

Two minutes later, the phone rings. I know it's Boston Pizza calling back to confirm the order. I tell Howard to answer the phone and he does, saying "Hello, you're among friends at Boston Pizza." The guy laughs hysterically, practically creamimg himself, passes the phone around the kitchen for the other guys to hear, and then comes back on and says "Wow. Cool. You're the guy. So, you're pizza will be there in 30 minutes and it will be 30 bucks."

Apparently you're amongst really mercinary friends at Boston Pizza.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.