DUTCH GIRL




My (anti)social life.

2004-07-05 - 12:20 p.m.

I've decided that the only way to keep my sanity while this I'm this busy and digging myself out from all this stress of late, is to hunker down at home and not drink much or go out. I've been coming home from work, having dinner with the hubby, watching a movie or two and heading to bed early. Like 10:30, which is unbelievably early for me. I've read two books in the last week, and almost finished my sweater.

And I do feel better. No more losing my shit and crying all over my friends in the bar ,which is NOT normal behaviour for me, and which has happened quite a few times lately. The last time 'round (a week ago this past Friday), I sobbed all over R for about 2 hours at the end of the night. About work. About life, and all my insecurities. Poor him, he was very patient and sat there and tried to sort me out. See, drinking and stress just don't mix.

So now I'm on this new plan. I think it's kind of pissing my friends off, because I don't want to play. I've even cancelled two dates on R, which I think is a first. But I just know it's right for me right now, and I'm determined to put myself first for a change.

It'll all be better soon. My show opens next Thursday night, and my new General Manager is starting to get broken in and in a few weeks I'll be able to leave more things in her hands. So that'll buy me back some play time. Once I feel more in control of things.

Oh yeah, and I'm going to take a wee little bit of a vacation, too. There's a thought. I've been going non-stop since April, so I think I deserve it.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.