DUTCH GIRL




Another opening ....

2004-07-16 - 11:37 a.m.

You just gotta love outdoor theatre.

It's opening night and the folks are all there, and we start the play, and while the first few scenes of Act One are going, we're looking up at the sky, and it's getting darker and darker, and looking more and more ominous. There's all kinds of distant thunder and lighting, and it's getting closer and closer. The sky is turning that scary grey-green colour. Laura Lee phones Eniviroment Canada and they tell her there's a tornado warning, and a hail storm warning and a thunderstorm warning. And it's all coming our way.

So, half way through the first act, we just stop the show and send everyone home. We all run around packing up like crazy, and about 10 minutes after we finish, the sky just opens up. It pours!

So, by 8:30 we're already in the middle of our opening night party. We just didn't get in all of opening night.

Now, you'd think that going to the bar at 8:30 would ensure that I would have a good time and still get home at a decent hour. But no, I managed not to get to bed until 5am. And then get up at 9:30 to be here at work. I'm supposed to go to a friend's house warming party tonight, but I don't think I'm going to make it. I think I'll need home, dinner and bed. Early. I'm getting to old for this life style.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.