DUTCH GIRL




I could get used to this.

2004-07-25 - 2:30 p.m.

Ah, yes. I knew a brief vacation was going to be a good thing.

I flew out yesterday, around 2. My dad drove me to the airport, which was nice since we haven't had a lot of time to visit lately. I checked in and then we had lunch. The only down note was his need to lecture me through lunch about my health, the fact that I haven't been going to the gym lately, and my lunch choice (a burger). He kept saying "I just want you to live a long time". Yes, dad, I know that. I do too. It just started getting on my nerves and I snapped at him a little just before I had to rush off to go through security.

The flight was delayed from taking off, due to the fact that the stupid airlines didn't have enough people working and there was only one guy checking people through onto the plane instead of the usual two people, and he screwed up the check in, so they ended up having more people on the plane when they did the head count than the number of people they had on the passenger list. It took them 2o minutes to resolve this, and they were just about to make everyone get off and re-check on to the plane when he remembered that he'd been checking through these three kids who were travelling without their parents, while also boarding other passengers, and sure enough, he hadn't checked one of the kid's boarding passes.

Anyhow, the rest of the flight was uneventful and Kelly and Esther met me at the airport. Kelly was only in town for the weekend. Those poor kids, they can never seem to be in the same town at the same time. Kelly does sound for films and Es is an actress. She was working in Calgary for several months while Kelly was here doing a film and he only got out to see her once or twice for a day or two. Then, right after she got back home to Vancouver, Kelly gets a job shooting in Calgary. To top it all off, she'd now about 6 months pregnant. The life of the artist, hey?

Anyhow, they wanted to make a stop by IKEA while we were out that way, on the way back from the airport, to pick up a couple of things for their house. We spent about 45 minutes driving around in 100 degree heat and high humidity, looking for the IKEA. Thank god it was air conditioned. But we ended up having the typical IKEA experience, going in looking for all this stuff and coming out with nothing but tea candles and a wicker basket.

Back home, Kelly cooked us a really great dinner, B came over, and we ate, drank and hung out, watching Bad(er) Santa, which is pretty damned funny.

If it hadn't been about 110 degrees in the house, the evening would have been perfect. It's hard to feel really relaxed and mellow when you're drenched in sweat, at least for me. But an ice cold shower just before bed helped out somewhat.

This morning a quartet of string musicians showed up at the house at 9am to record part of a song for the sound track of some TV show (Kelly and his friend Rob also have a recording studio business, although currently they mostly record out of the living room). Es and I sat out on the back deck eating fresh cherries and blackberries and chatting in a subdued whisper (so as not to screw with the recording), while they finished up. What I heard sounded pretty cool. I guess it's for some show called "The L Word".

Now she's gone off to drive him to the airport to send him back to Calgary. There's a nice breeze blowing today, which makes it a lot cooler in the house, so I'm taking advantage of the cooler temperature to come upstairs and write on the computer. When Es gets back, we're going to go pick up a couple of DVDs and order in some Mexican food and have a really quiet night in. Bliss.

T gets in tomorrow about noon and we're having dinner with other friends and then I have a big day planned for Tuesday which involves shopping (with his credit card of course) and dinner at this fabulous BBQ place Kelly recommended.

Back to reading my book now. I like this life. Maybe I'll never go back to work. I just need to find someone to sponsor the life style to which I would like to become accustomed.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.