DUTCH GIRL




Flashback.

2004-08-11 - 1:17 p.m.

Wow. Reading Neko's diary today (I won't bother to link, since it's locked and I'm sure anyone who has her passwords has already read it) just gave me a wicked flashback to my little brother's climbing accident 14 years ago this month. I can't believe 14 years have already gone by. Sometimes it still feels like it was yesterday. He fell 75 feet down a cliff and had to be air rescued. I still remember sitting in ICU holding his hand. I won't go in to details today, but I'm going to spend the rest of the day sending out big time good thoughts for the lovely Neko and her sister and family.

It's funny. I was playing Trivial Pursuit two weeks ago with friends and the question was asked "What's the most dangerous sport? Sky diving, rock climbing or motorcycle racing?" One friend said "Sky diving, for sure". Another was convinced it was motorcycle racing. No one would believe me that it was rock climbing. But that was the right answer. It's the one thing where, when people tell me they do it and how much fun it is, I just go pale. If my nephew ever even thinks about it, I swear I'll chain him to a pole for the rest of his life. Although I doubt I'll have to do it, as I'm sure my sister would do it before me.

In other news, it's T's birthday today. Thank god this is a happier one than last year, when we were fighting and he was making plans to move out. We're going to try this African restaurant tonight and then I'm going to take him to see Farenheit 911. If I can stay awake that long. I had one of those nights last night where you just lie in bed and toss and turn and your mind races 10,000 miles an hour from one incompleted thought to another. I think it was about 3:30 before I finally fell asleep.

Why is it that fast food Chinese lunch counters always give you enough food to choke a horse? I appreciate getting my money's worth, but this is likey to be my lunch for the next 3 days running, it's so much food.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.