DUTCH GIRL




feelin' crappy

2004-08-12 - 10:38 a.m.

Life is hard some days.

T and I had a fabulous dinner at the South African restaurant last night. I had a bowl of Butternut Squash soup that was one of the nest things I've ever put in my mouth. Without a doubt. A little bit of curry. A little bit of coconut milk. Lots of cream.

The down side was that the food was all very rich. I had a couple of glasses of wine with dinner, and then 2 beers after we saw Farenheit 9/11 (because the movie made me feel sick). That's all. I've had WAY more to drink than that on many occasions.

And yet, I woke up this morning feeling like absolute hell. I've had half a bottle of Pepto-Bismal already this morning and I still feel like I'm going to barf every 5 minutes. And I couldn't stay home and nurse my poor sick self because I stayed home last Thursday and the rest of my staff is going to think Thursdays are my "too hung over to go to work" days. Crap.

In brighter news, we firmed up plans for this year's mid-winter holiday. We've been going away in January or February every year for the past 7 years. This winter was the first time we didn't go. It was awful and I missed it soooo much. We've promised each other that we're going this winter, no matter what. And now we've promised others, so it's practically a done deal. Shari, Trev, Jessie, Lisa, T and I are returning to the lovely and fabulous Puerto Vallarta (well, 4 of us our returning - Lisa and Jessie haven't ever been)at the beginning of January, for 2 amazing weeks of lying in the sun, drinking things that come in coconuts and reading many many books. We made lists of our favorite restaurants in PV last night, discussed which leisure activities are best (sailing? horseback riding? scuba? hmmm ... so many choices) and generally got ourselves all worked up and excited. T has promised to contact our friend Armando, who lives in PV and now works booking condos and time-shares and who's last email said he thought he could get us a great deal next time we come down.

Ah, Mexico. Hold on, I'm coming back!

But not just yet, cause right now I have to go buy more Pepto.

* * * * * * * * 12:30pm * * * * * * * *

Apparently, a Wendy's cheeseburger and a diet coke can also settle your tummy. Who knew?

Here's a thought brought on by the 9/11 movie experience of the night before: I'm sure glad that war in Iraq is over. Aren't you? I'm sure glad the US won that one. I bet those 2000 Marines who are fighting in Najaf today feel the same way.

So, I just paid a visit to my travel agent, and we can get the best deal if we book right now. Jan 1 - 15, $1619 per person for 2 weeks all inclusive at our favorite hotel. I smell some travel booking in plans for tomorrow. Weeee .............

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.