DUTCH GIRL




A dull but productive weekend.

2004-08-29 - 11:01 p.m.

The weekend has just flown by.

Friday after work we took the whole staff for drinks. It was also Marcie's birthday. I rushed home around 6, as T was making dinner for Natascha, who's going to be in the show that starts rehearsals tomorrow. He's been promising her red beans and rice for a while, and he wanted to sing some stuff with her and check out her range before rehearsals start. After dinner they planned to watch some Buster Keaton videos. Not being much into the singing or the Buster Keaton, I left them after dinner and went back to the bar. My friend Kate was back in town after a month in Europe with her mom and son, so we hung out. A few too many cocktails, which caused me to send a stupid email to R, but other than that, no bad behaviour, thank god.

Saturday started slow, with T and I both rather hung over. I got up about 11 and left him still sleeping while I went to the yarn store and bought some really beautiful green cotton for a sweater I said I'd make for Natascha. I spent much of the afternoon starting the sweater, and then T and I went for dinner at my Dad's. The annual family dinner on the anniversary of my brother's passing. It was a much happier affair this year, with a new baby crawling around the house and amusing us all, which was nice. T rushed off to a gig after dinner and I got some DVDs and came home, hung for a while and went to bed.

This morning we went out to do some errands, which included looking for something for me to wear to the Awards show tomorrow night. I ended up buying $500 worth of new clothes, which I really couldn't afford, but now I have a great outfit for the evening and some smart new work clothes. I even bought things that match, which is cool, cause I'm usually the queen of buying one-off things that go with nothing else I own. The afternoon involved laundry and cleaning the house. T is now off at the airport picking up our friend John, who'll be staying here while he directs the show that starts in the morning.

Big day tomorrow. First day of rehearsal, especially the start of the season, always feels like "back to school" and then we have to be at the Awards night by 5:00pm. That's usually a late night. It should be nuts this year. It's completely sold out, with 425 tickets.

It's busy, but I'm glad to be busy, since it keeps me from dwelling too much. And now I have to go get things organized for tomorrow morning and hit the sack. Long day ahead.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.