DUTCH GIRL




September 1

2004-09-01 - 10:24 a.m.

September is here.

With it comes going back to work in full swing. Rehearsals and shows for the next nine months. Being busy all the time.

With it comes cooler temperatures. A reminder that it will be winter soon enough. Sweaters and scarves, followed by coats and hats and gloves.

With it comes the openings of many, many plays for the season, the first of which is tonight.

When I was a kid, I always loved September. I loved the first few days of school. A fresh start. Clean, unused notebooks, just waiting to be filled up. Seeing old friends again. Making new ones. I always felt like September was the month to reinvent yourself. To do better at the things you screwed up last year.

I still kind of feel that way, although there seems to be less chance for a fresh start. More crap that comes along with you into the start of a new season. More heartache, more regret, more failure (oooh, that's a depressing thought).

I don't know where I'm going with this. I've been feeling kind of melancholy the last few days. But I'm trying to snap out of it and feel like it's "start over" time again. Anything's possible, right?

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.