DUTCH GIRL




A long but peaceful weekend.

2004-09-06 - 2:10 p.m.

I haven't updated in four days, and yet I have little to nothing to say.

It's just been that kind of weekend.

Not a bad thing, really. I needed the restful long weekend break.

I can't even really remember what I did Friday night. Oh yes, I met Trevor for a couple of drinks after work, to talk about the 2 shows he's doing for me, the one he's acting in and the one he's directing. A few more people joined us, including T when he finished rehearsal, we had a couple of beers and then headed home to veg for the rest of the evening.

Saturday I slept until about 1:00pm and then lazed around the house for the remained of the day. I finished reading my latest novel, Due Preparations For The Plague by Janet Turner Hospital. It's a very beautiful, very interesting, but very grim book about the lasting affects of terrorism. Most of it was written before 9-11 happened, but there are really spooky similarities.

Saturday night I had a date with Shanny, but we didn't really get to hang or catch up as there were always other folks hanging around. Instead, I ended up playing Asshole until about 3 in the morning. Shanny showed me these hilarious photos from our drunken "Sopranos" night a few weeks ago, which I will try to scan and post here tomorrow or the next day.

Yesterday I went out and ran errands, grocery shopping, a trip to Staples and the video store and then came home and did laundry. T was in the studio all day and John (our current house guest) was off at a NA meeting. When they got home, we ordered chinese food and then John and I watched 4 episodes of Oz on DVD while T worked on his script/score for the show. I have never seen Oz before, and John got me in to it. This past week, we've watched all of season 1 and the first 3 episodes of season 2. What an amazing show. It's really grim and the characters are all pretty morally reprehensible, but the writing and acting are soooo amazing.

Today I was supposed to go in to work for a few hours and help Laura Lee clean the green room, but she just called to say it's too cluttered with show stuff and we need to put it off until tomorrow, so I'm now debating whether to hang out here at home again all day today, or go out for a bit. A book I ordered is in, so I might go take a trip downtown and hit the bookstore and a couple of other spots. Or I might not. There's a lot to be said for laziness and I don't think I'll have much coming up in the near future, so ....

That's it. That's my exciting life.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.