DUTCH GIRL




Chicks Rock.

2004-09-11 - 12:15 p.m.

What's with all the fuckwad crazy bad drivers out there today? Did I miss the memo that said today was fuckwad crazy bad driver day, or what? If I'd know, I wouldn't have ventured out in my car this morning, risking life and limb.

Anywho ... last night was total fun. We had the meeting of our "harpies" club. Me, Marcie, Kate, Laura, Shari and Elizabeth. There's really nothing like hanging out for the evening with a bunch of super cool, smart chicks.

The evening started out slow and seemed like maybe it was going to be a bust. We all showed up between 5 and 6. Everyone was tired. Marcie was ready for a nap after spending the day hiking. Kate thought she was coming down with the flu and kept saying she was going to have to go home.

But by about 7:00 we found our groove. I think enough cocktails had been consummed by that point. The conversations ranged from travel to gambling to pyramid schemes to breast cancer to prejudice to how little girls are socialized to be part of the group, while boys learn how to be individuals to love and sexuality, and many many points in between.

We were sort of sitting in the middle of the room, but in our own little "girl' world at the table, and people would come in and cruise right on by. Normally, people would ask if they could sit down and join you on a Friday night in the theatre bar, but everyone knew better. Some of the guys would come by the table and say a shy hello and then scurry off to their corner.

Around 11 it got pretty funny. We slapped a bunch of money (and a pack of stamps - Elizabeth's contribution) down in the middle of the table and told some of the guys we'd pay them to gogo dance on the long bar, which they did, to John cash singing Burning Ring of Fire. The whole bar was hooting and hollering, except for a few non-theatre types who giggled nervously.

The boys used their earnings to buy us a round of tequilla shots. Danger Will Robinson, Danger! Elizabeth announced very loudly that we had to do body shots, and everyone had to do the first round off her. She's such a little hedonist. We all complied of course. I bet the girl went home wearing more salt than the rim of a margarita.

She ordered us a second round, and we decided that the game this time around was to do your shot off a cute stranger. Fun idea, but I thought it would never happen because we'd all suddenly get shy. God Bless Shari, she's my new hero. She marched right up to the cutest guy in the bar - about 26, tall, tanned, blond, yummy - and asked if she could do a body shot off him. He looked a little confused, but came along to our table and let Shari lick salt from his neck and take the lime out of his mouth. Soon, Shari was running around the bar procuring cute strangers for all of us to lick. It was hilarious. The guy she brought over for Elizabeth seemed to like it just a little too much.

By 1, we were all pretty wobbly. Lucky me, I didn't have to work today. Marcie and Shari both had to work at 9am, Kate had a paper to write, and Elizabeth has kids, so I'm guessing only Laura and I got to lie about and enjoy the hang-over.

T came and collected me around 2, as did Shari's husband. Such good sports. The other gals staggered off to find cabs, but not before we all picked a date do do it again in October. This could be dangerous.

Now, I'm going to go nurse my hang-over by getting back into my pajamas and curling up on the couch to knit and watch season 3 of OZ. I have to admit, I'm totally hooked. It's a fucking brilliant show and I don't know why I never watched it before.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.