DUTCH GIRL




Random recap of the last few days.

2004-10-03 - 8:07 p.m.

That was a long week. Rehearsing every day, trying to keep on top of all my other work. Staying out too late too many nights, having too many beers.

But over-all, it was a good week.

We closed the Blues show yesterday. It was completely sold out for the last 4 shows, with all kinds of people showing up on Friday and Saturday wanting to get in. Saturday, we sold 10 "standing room" tickets, which meant we charged people half price to stand on the steps at the back of the theatre to watch the show because there wasn't a single empty seat.

People sure loved that show. The girls were so amazing. Their singing just got better and better every day. I'll miss not hearing those songs anymore. A freind said the nicest thing to me the other day, that after seeing the show she felt she could just go home and not go to anything else all year because she'd seen the high-light of the theatre season.

Rehearsals seem to be going pretty well too, although we've been awfully silly in the rehearsal hall. But we seem to be getting done what we need to get done. The play is all blocked and we ended the week with a run yesterday. The next couple of days will be all about specifics and I think we should be in good shape by the time we hit tech on the weekend.

I'm going to cook Thanksgiving dinner for T next Saturday, as I have that day off, and I've promised to bring in left-overs for the cast and crew on the Sunday, so I went shopping for goodies today, to the new market that just opened downtown. What a zoo. That was my only real accomplishment today, other than starting a new book called The Bone People. I seem to have read a lot of books with "bone" in the title recently - The Lovely Bones, The White Bone, The Bone People. Weird.

B is in town this week for a visit, as it's the one year anniversary of his father's passing. He came and hung out on Friday night and it was really great to see him. That whole evening was crazy. We were originally supposed to have another chick night, the next meeting of our Harpy Club, but Laura couldn't make it at all, and Shari and Elizabeth couldn't be there until late, so it was a much more social gathering with a lot more people. We started after rehearsal, around 6pm, with me and Trevor and R and Eli, and then people just kept joining us all night from there.

R and I are getting along great again. Far too well. I worry that I'm just going to be sad again when the play is over and, once again, he's not in my life on a regular basis. We just have so much fun together and there's just such a connection there. Friday night we spent about 2 hours talking and it was like there was no one else around. I'm trying really hard to keep some perspective this time and not let myself get too wrapped up in it all. But it's not easy.

He's coined a new nick-name for me that he's been calling me all week - The Brat. I complained that I didn't think I was bratty, but he assured me that if I looked in the dictionary, next to the word, you'd see a picture of me. But he also assured me that it wasn't meant as a bad thing. He said he loves that quality in me. That I'm silly and playful and irreverant. So I guess maybe that's okay. He certainly brings that side out in me.

Anyhow, B finally drove me home around 4am. Got to bed at 5 and had to be up by 9:30. Ouch. Yesterday's rehearsal was hilarious, and 4 out of the 5 of us were hung-over and suffering from a lack of sleep. By the time we went for a post-rehearsal beer, we were all basically laughing at nothing. A big old case of the hang-over giggles.

I have to go and try to pull some music for the show now. I usually have an idea of what I want to use, but this time I'm stumped. I've already listened to a bunch of stuff, but none of it seems right. I'm hoping I'll have an inspiration if I just keep digging through the old CD collection. Thank god we have about a million CDs.

Well, enough rambling for one evening.

Later, alligator.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.