DUTCH GIRL




Cooking and Complaining.

2004-10-10 - 11:26 a.m.

Part One of the great Thanksgiving Feast is over.

I cooked for 8 hours yesterday and then served T and Shanny a lovely dinner. Then we spent a couple of hours packing up all the leftovers. Washing ever dish I own. Boiling up the turkey carcass so T can make his famous Turkey/Split Pea Soup.

Now I have a huge box packed with left-overs to take to work for dinner on our break this afternoon.

I kinda know how a caterer feels.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

On another note, I just want to bitch about this for a second:

B came in to town last week. We hung out quite a bit. It was great. He seems to be in a really great head space right now.

He brought these CDs he's made of a bunch of his songs, which he's recorded on his little home studio. They sound pretty good.

I know all these songs pretty well. I remember a lot of the times when he wrote a lot of them. What they're about. Who they're about. He's played them for me over many late nights that I have fond memories of. Many of them contain snippets of things I said to him, conversations we had. Bits of me are in several of those songs.

He passed out copies of the discs to several friends, including Marcie, whom I share an office with. Now, she's playing them NON-STOP in our office. I know it's a compliment to B. She likes his music. But hearing them all day long, as back ground music, is ruining them for me. It's like she's turning our history and our friendship into her own background music.

I don't see any way to ask her to stop without seeming like I don't like his music, or I'm being possessive of his freindship or something. So I'm just spending as little time in my office as possible.

I know, that's dumb. But I just needed to get it off my chest. Sometimes it's the little things that get to me.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Sweet Jesus, she's playing them again. It's 7pm, just before our preview. I love B, but I DO NOT WANT TO HEAR THIS CD AGAIN!

Anyhow, Thanksgiving part two has just been completed. The cast and crew of my show are lying in the green room holding their bellies. Maybe it wasn't the brightest idea I ever had to feed them all turkey dinner just before we have our first audience. I'll be lucky if they don't all lie down on the floor, right in the middle of the show and moan "Rub my belly."

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.