DUTCH GIRL




It's COLD!

2004-10-20 - 11:04 a.m.

It's cold outside. It snowed on the weekend and it's trying to snow again. It's only the 20th of October, for Gawd's Sake!!!!

The on-set of winter always makes me unhappy. I know, I live in the North, and I've lived here most of my life, so I should be used to it, but I'm not. And I don't get the people who look at me all funny when I complain about it, and tell me they like winter. Yeah sure, maybe it you're one of those people who likes to ski and skate and all those other crazy out-door winter things.

But I'm not a winter person. I hate having to wear four layers of clothing and freeze to death while waiting for a bus. And not drive my car because it still has it's shitty bald summer tires on it. And worry about killing myself by slipping on the Mt. Everest hill we live on. And not being able to wear cute girly shoes to work, unless I wear large ugly boots and carry cute girly shoes in a bag (see reference to large hill above).

Okay, enough bitching about the weather. I just needed to get that out of my system. It's likely to be here until April or May now, so I might as well just get used to it.

In other news .... hmmm .... do I have any other news?

It's going to be a long day today. It started with a breakfast meeting with my lovely friend Glenda. We do this about 4 times a year and it's always so great. Bacon and eggs and a really good chat at 8 in the morning. Many meetings this afternoon, a pile of grant proposals to read for this jury I'm sitting on next week, and then a concert tonight, Rokia Traore, who I saw a couple of years ago at a Folk Festival. Should be good. But a long day, non-the-less, as there's no point in going home between work and the concert.

See, that's the problem. Now that winter has set in, I feel like hibernating. Going home before it gets dark and cozying in on my couch to watch TV and drink tea. (Oops, I said I wasn't going to bitch about that anymore.) Plus I won't get to see the baseball game tonight, and T and I have become addicted to rooting for those wacky Red Socks over the past few evenings. So they'll just have to win that old game 7 without my shouts of support.

Any now ... back to work. I've discovered it doesn't do itself, no matter how hard you wish it too.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.