DUTCH GIRL




Travel time.

2004-10-27 - 5:24 p.m.

First day in Edmonton doing the jury thing. It's way harder and more exhausting than I thought it would be. We spent eight hours today going over applications and trying to decide who should get money and who shouldn't. It's hard to turn people down, but we have about $300,000 worth of requests and only about $90,000 in actual funds to disperse. It makes me feel bad to know how many poeple's artistic dreams we're going to have to dash, at least in the short term. I can only hope most of the applicants will find other ways to do what they want to do.

Now I'm back in the hotel room, exhausted. Shanny's here, which is great, but I need a little time to decompress because I've been thinking and talking all freaking day and don't feel like I can do either thing any more for a while.

Not to mention that yesterday was a long, long day. I stayed out far too late Monday night (until 3am), drinking beer, and then had to work all day yesterday, including babysitting my nephew while my sister and mother watched the show. Man one year old babies can be strong. He wouldn't let me put him down, but he struggled and squirmed the whole time and my arms are killing me today.

Anyhow, I was all tired and hung over and then I had to rush home after work, pack, head to the airport, fly here, meet up with Barb and Jeff and Stewart, have dinner and a drink or two and then finally, I got to the hotel about 10:30pm. And had one of those weird nights where I woke up every hour or two all night.

But it's good to get away for a few days and have a little break from the routine. I just have to try to balance having fun with Shanny with getting some sleep so I can use my brain all day again tomorrow and Friday. I fear if I don't I'm going to get sick. I can feel a cold lurking in the background waiting to get me.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.