DUTCH GIRL




Update from the Big E.

2004-10-28 - 5:02 p.m.

Day Two of jury work. I guess I haven't used my brain this hard for this many hours in a row in quite a while, cause FUCK it's making me tired. (Okay, It didn't help that Shanny came in at 3:30am and I woke up and we yacked for an hour when I should so have been sleeping.) We spent most of today writing comments for all of the applicants that we didn't award grants to. You have to try to write things that fall into the category of "contructive criticism". Like, you can't just say "We didn't give you money because we think your project sucked". That, my friends, is apparently not helpful. So for each one, we tried to think of something nice to say, and then explain in a contructive way why we didn't fund them. I was smart and right away volunteered for the easy job, which is typing the comments into the computer spread sheet. Which left the other two jurors the lions share of the job of coming up with the comments. Still, my brain is very tired and hurty right about now. I think I'll take a nap in my lovely hotel room. Shanny is out schmoozing the Edmonton media for her job and who knows what she has cooked up for tonight, so I best rest while I can. The good news is that we're way ahead of schedule which means I get to go home earlier than planned tomorrow. Yay. Plus, I convinced them to let us start at 9:30 tomorrow instead of 9:00am. It might not seem like much to you, but a half hour of extra sleep is a half hour of extra sleep. Know what I'm saying?

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.