DUTCH GIRL




Home again, home again.

2004-10-29 - 8:31 p.m.

It's 8:30 Friday night and I'm finally back home. Thank God.

This was a long day. I had to check out of the hotel and then be at my final Jury meeting by 9:30 this morning. We finished our work of writing the "constructive" comments for the poor folk we didn't award money to, including some good heated debate about what we were going to say. One application in particular brought out a good argument. The older gent on our Jury didn't like the play, mostly because he didn't like the content and felt it was mean spirited (it trashed a particular town and a particular mayor of that town who refused to issue the proclimation of pride for the town's "gay pride" parade). He kept on protesting that he wasn't homophobic, but I don't know. The other gal and I kept saying we had no problem with the subject matter, it was just poorly written. He kept wanting to make comments about the subject matter and how he thought it was inappropriate to write this "provocative" play to further his agenda. Luckily, we got him off that idea eventually.

Anyhow, still managed to finish way early (2:00pm) and my flight wasn't booked until 8. I tried to move to an earlier flight, but the best I could do was 7. Sooooo .... hours to kill in downtown Edmonton with my luggage stowed at the hotel and nothing much to do.

I went shopping for a while, but the downtown mall was booring. I did manage to pick up some very cute Baby Gap clothes on sale for my lovely nephew's first birthday on the 12th of November. I gave up around 4:30 and just took a cab to the airport, which turned out not to be the best idea I've ever had, as it was smack in the middle of rush hour and the cab cost $45. Thank God the people I was jurying for will pay for that one.

Once at the airport, I snarfed a quick burger to stave off hunger and then found an airport lounge where I could drink, smoke and play VLTs. I plunked in $20, and at one point I was up to $80, but I settled for walking away with my original $20 in my hand (and an extra 75 cents). While playing, I was forced to listen to THE MOST INANE conversation, these three guys chatting up this totally dumb chick while they were all waiting for their flight to Fort McMurray. The Lord please protect us from dumb northern oil trash. At one point the girl said "My boarding pass says I have to be at the gate at 6:12. Does that mean I have to be there at 12 minutes after 6?" And one of the guys kept trying to convince her to take a couple of Advils because it would "relax her on the plane". Whhaaaaa??????

I finally managed to get on the plane without my brain sliding out my ears onto the floor, a quick 50 minutes home (with some exceptional turbulence) and here I am. Ready to go find my hubby after his opening night performance and quaff a few tasty beverages.

As Dorothy says .....

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.