DUTCH GIRL




My Knight in Shining Armour.

2004-10-30 - 5:43 p.m.

What a day, what a day!

I stayed out far too late last night (3am) and drank far too much and woke up this morning with a raging hang-over. It was the final performance of our little show today (I'm actually going to really miss this one), so I headed in to the theatre, feeling like I was still half cut. After the show, we went for lunch and a little hair of the ol' dog. After ordering, I discovered that I had no wallet. No cash, no bank card, no credit cards, nothing. I was pretty sure I knew where it was - sitting on the dining room table - but there's always that nagging fear.

R very kindly said not to worry, he'd cover my tab. He was just laughing and saying he felt sorry for me because I was hung-over and having a hard day. We ended up sitting there for a couple of hours chatting. I was barely able to choke down 2 beers. Finally, at about 4:30, we decided we had better go, since he had to go home and change and get ready for his band gig tonight, and I really needed a nap. I said I was going to drive him home since he had so kindly paid my bill, including buying me cigarettes.

We hopped in the car in the parkade, and about half a block after leaving the parkade, the car started to sound funny and pull badly to the right. I pulled to the curb and got out to take a look, and the left front tire was completely OFF THE RIM. T just had 4 new tires put on my car on Friday morning. Talk about your shitty workmanship.

God bless R's cotton socks, he changed the tire to the spare for me, getting all dirty and everything. I was so grateful. I'm pretty much a girl about those sorts of things and would most likey have just left the car sitting there and walked home (no money for bus or cab, remember) if I'd been on my own.

After that, he insisted he take a cab home, so I could just drive right home and park the damned thing. We were worried about one of the other tires falling off. So, he bought me lunch and beer, fixed my car, got all dirty and then had to take a cab home, with barely enough time now to get home, change and go to the bar for the sound check.

I, on the other hand, am going to go have a nap now and try to kill the pounding in my brain. (My wallet turned out to be right where I thought it would be, by the way.) And after napping, I'm going to go to his gig and buy him many, many drinks.

I love it when boys are all manly and helpful and you get to be all "damsel-in-distress" but I would have liked it better if I hadn't looked and felt so seriously crappy.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.