DUTCH GIRL




Good Shows and Bad Shows.

2004-11-08 - 11:10 p.m.

Our opening show went really well today, aside from the woman in the front row who's cell phone rang (why don't people shut the damned things off??) and the two old ladies who came in 20 minutes late and had to sit in the back row, which has squat in the way of leg room, and then the one old lady bitched and complained, REALLY LOUDLY, about how uncomfortable she was until I went and got her a folding chair and stuck it on a step in the aisle, just to shut her the hell up. But, other than that, all good. It's this great one-man show called Life After Hockey, which is pretty appropriate in this year with no NHL, in this hockey crazy city. I'm hoping it'll sell like hot cakes. Christian is amazing in it, and the coolest thing is that we laid down this stuff on the stage floor that looks like ice, and he can actually skate on it, wearing real ice skates. It's soooo cool. It feels pretty good to have had three amazing shows in a row so far this season. (God, I can't believe we're already in to our third show.)

Despite the tiredness from the crazy weekend of too much partying, I managed to get a lot done at work today, even with the show opening, so I've decided to work from home tomorrow to try to catch up on a huge pile of script reading I have to do. I just can't seem to consentrate on reading scripts in the office, what with the phone ringing and people coming in and out. We'll see how much better I do at home. Which means I'll most likely be coming to d-land quite a lot during the day, while I'm looking to do anything other than what I should be doing. Yeah, I'm just like that. So all you folks out there better be updating lots, so I have lots to read.

I just finished watching my current most guilty pleasure, The Swan. Actually, the show kind of draws me and repells me at the same time. What is our facination with "making over" everyone. They take these poor fucked up women who have all kinds of body and self-esteem issues, and turn them into freaking Barbie Dolls. I mean, a little bit of help with things like sagging skin I can understand, actually. You only have to have been on the losing and gaining weight yo-yo a few times in your life to understand how good it would feel to lose that skin no amout of diet or exercise will take away. But the nose jobs, the new boobs, the chin implants, the hair extensions, the fat injected into the lips .... And then they have to enter a beauty pagent? What a fucked up world this is. And then there's me, who can't help but watch the damned thing. Someone should just come and take my TV away.

Well, that's enough rambling for the evening. Time for a bed and a good book. Yay for literature over Fox TV.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.