DUTCH GIRL




Thought for the day.

2004-11-15 - 2:34 p.m.

It was National Philanthropy Day today. Woo-hoo, you say. As do I, I suppose, although in truth I'm grateful for all those people who give money so that companies like mine can do what we do. Anyhow, there was this big luncheon, honouring a bunch of companies and individuals who've made significant contributions to not-for-profits and charities. There was this little girl, 10 years old, who's mom died of cancer and she started selling these braclets at her school to profit the organization her mother had worked for, which helps women struggling with addiction. She's raised $40,000 to date. Her story made me all weepy, when she's standing up there on stage, being honoured by the Mayor and this room full of 100s of business people, and she's talking about how much she misses her mom, but how she knows her mom is proud of her. (Oops, getting weepy again just writing about it.) It's amazing to me that people (especially someone so young) can turn their personal tragedies into acts of healing and help. I'd like to be like that little 10 year old when I grow up, rather than the selfish grown-up I am, all consummed with my own shit. So there.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.