DUTCH GIRL




A warm weekend - much appreciated, despite the pain.

2004-12-10 - 1:07 p.m.

I watched the movie DODGEBALL last night, and it gave me my new favorite line:

"You're about as useless as a poopy-flavored lollypop."

Tee Hee.

I just have to find an excuse to use it today.

Yesterday was a "stay at home sick" day. Damned Chinooks. They're these temperature inverstions we have here. They're very nice, in the fact that the weather was -20 on Wed. night and +5 on Thursday morning (celcius), but they play hell with my already delicate sinuses, something I inherited from my mother. So I woke up at 8am yesterday morning with a raging sinus headache. Called work, cancelled all my appointments, took some Tylenol Cold and Sinus and went back to bed until noon. I felt a little better by then, so I helped T take our kitties to the vet for their annual booster shots, so that we can board them for the two weeks we're going to be in Mexico. They were remarkably well behaved, considering someone was poking and prodding them and sticking a thermometer up their butts and giving them needles in their hips. Poor little monkies.

After the vet, we stopped by the grocery store and the video store, and I made us fabulous steaks for dinner and then camped on the couch in my pjs and watched movies all night. DODGEBALL and then both BEFORE SUNRISE (which I've never seen) and then, right afterwards, BEFORE SUNSET. It was kinda fun watching them back to back. It made me think a lot about connections to people, how rare and special a real honest to god connection is, and how it can last a life time, even when you don't see that person all the time. How delicate it can be and how frightening, but also how precious and beautiful.

Anyhow, it lead me to having weird dreams about R. About being at a party with him and him ignoring me and telling me to fuck off and I felt so bad that our connection seemed to have just disappeared. I woke up feeling a little blue, but was totally cheered by turning on my cell phone (which I had left off all day yesterday) and he'd left me two messages wondering why I wasn't at work and if I was okay and how he missed me. So, I guess the connection still holds.

Isn't it funny how easily we get paranoid when we like someone. Do men worry as much about this shit as women, I wonder? I've often been told I analize things way too much. But that's just me.

Today I can enjoy the much warmer, sunny weather without the stabbing pain behind my right eye, and that's a good thing.

Now I'm going to go look for someone to call useless, so I can quote Rip Torn.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.