DUTCH GIRL




It was a white Christmas after all.

2004-12-26 - 11:07 a.m.

Let's see ....

Christmas Eve was great. Shari and Trevor came over. We had "livingroom picnic", which consisted of 3 kinds of cheese, four kinds of crackers, polish saugage, smokes oysters, shrimp, bruchetta, 2 kinds of pickles, olives, asiago and artichoke dip, and some assorted other goodies I can't recall. Plus wine. Then we played Scatagories, which was fun but made our brains hurt. I lost every round, but I came up with some damn funny answers. And then we watched Shaun of the Dead. What a great movie. After they left, T and I opened our presents to each other and then went to bed, full, happy and me barking like a seal with this damned cold.

Yesterday we got up late, had a little breakfast, made some Christmas phone calls and putzed about. I made mashed potatos (with pounds of butter, cream cheese and sour cream) and candied yams and we headed over to my Dad's for the family dinner with 14 people. The pile of gifts covered almost the entire living room and at least half of them were for my nephew. That's a lot of stuff for a one-year old. That kid might be getting a little spoiled. He cracked me up though, when my step-mom was taking pictures. The kid loves having his picture taken. He can be all fussy, and then someone points a camera at him and says "Smile Brodie" and he looks right at the camera and delivers this huge shit-eating grin, over and over. He's destined to be a model or an actor or something. It was hilarious to watch. Much Christmas dinner was consummed. Brodie ended up with mashed potatos in his hair and all over his forehead.

This was the first year I didn't send my Dad a suggested gift list (he always asks for one, but I didn't get around to it until too late) so the gift portion was interesting. Apparently my step-mother doesn't know my taste all that well. There was a Kenny G CD (good god) and a DVD of Moulin Rouge, which I hated. Ah well. There was also a $200 gift certificate for shoes, so all is good. And some lovely art work. This seems to have been the gift certificate year. Between T and I, we got $150 in credit at our favorite bookstore, I got the shoes, and my mom gave me $300 worth of time at the gym (which I BADLY need, since I'm getting so fat again). All in all, not too bad.

It snowed like crazy last night, so today we're holed up at home watching episodes of season 3 of 24 on DVD in our pajamas. I'm just about to make a big brunch. and there will be no venturing outside at all today. That's the kind of Christmas holiday I like best.

I hope yours was all good too. I hope Santa brought you all your heart desires.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.