DUTCH GIRL




Happy Birthday to me.

2004-12-28 - 11:16 a.m.

Do you know what day it is today?

Hmmm???

It's my birthday.

And here I am, stuck at work, still coughing and feeling slightly hung-over from staying out too late last night and really wishing I could be home in bed.

So I guess I'd better get my ass in gear and do the work I have to do, so I can go home and have a nap before going out again tonight for a little birthday party.

Speaking of birthdays, we went to this birthday party last night for a dear dear man who's turning 75 (hence my slight bit of hang-over). I know B was feeling bad that he didn't come back to town for the holidays and for Grant's birthday party, but I don't think it was quite the kind of party he thought it was going to be, although it was lovely non-the-less. It was fairly subdued and there were a lot of old folks there (go figure) and his family and stuff, and speeches and things. Anyhow, the cool thing was thinking about how totally revered he is in this community. He's been an actor and a teacher for ever here and he's the most gentle and gracious man and he's touched so many people's lives and every one loves him so much. He talked about how, many years ago, he came back here from New York after trying to make it as an actor there (I don't know why he didn't, he's an amazing actor) and he felt like such a failure and wondered what he was going to do with his life and now he can't think of a better life than the one he's had. As he said last night, he's a walking advert. for living the life you're meant to live and getting the maximum pleasure out of it. Most of us should be that amazing at 55, let alone 75. He looks about half his age, he's in great shape mentally and physically, he still acts and directs, he still smokes and drinks and lives the good life. He's our elder statesman and we all aspire to be just a little bit like him if we can be.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.