DUTCH GIRL




The weekend update.

2005-02-14 - 12:15 p.m.

The melodrama of the end of last week is now successfully behind me, thank god.

I've managed to avoid the bar since Thursday night, which is a very good thing. Friday night, we had Shari and Trev over for dinner. Best dinner party ever, since I invited them over and then Trev said "Cool. I'll cook". Nothing like guests who bring the dinner. He made this really great paella and I added salad and garlic bread and beer and we had a fine feast, followed by many rounds of Scategory. I lost every freaking round. Ah well.

Saturday was a stay in and hide out kind of day. I went out and rented some DVDs, stopped by the yarn store for a fresh stock up, and then hung out watching TV, knitting and dying my hair. No more unsightly graying roots, just a dark rich red colour.

Yesterday I went to see R's show with a friend. We were really lucky to get tickets, as the whole run has been sold out. Gack. A dinner theatre production of GRE@SE which had sold out about 100 performances. It makes me shake my head and worry about the general artistic tastes of the masses. On the plus side, it's nice for the folks who can get a 15 week well-paying contract. I just wish they'd hire some better folks. The two gals playing the two lead female roles had great singing voices but neither of them could act for shit. What's up with that?

Anyhow, complimentary tickets which included the buffet, so free brunch (I ate my own body weight in Florentines - bad me!) and then we knew the waiter, so he comped all our drinks too. The whole thing cost the two of us $5. Which is about what I want to pay for an only marginally okay show. And all those peppy show-biz 22 year olds made me want to vomit just a little.

Following the show, R and I went for a beer and then met up with another friend for sushi around 4. We never really discussed the whole Thursday night phone call/freak-out thing, except for a little joke about how I was never leaving him another phone message as long as I lived, but things were fine. It's one thing I really appreciate about our friendship - the fact that we don't make huge big deals about past silly behaviour. We just enjoyed hanging out with each other as usual. I know we'll talk about it all at some point, but it's nice to know we don't have to go through and disect that kind of thing immediately afterwards. Neither of us wants to dwell too much on that shit, and there's a strong feeling that we just don't want to wreck the pleasure we get out of each other's company. We had good laughs and good talks and a generally very good time yesterday and I feel much better about the whole thing.

Tonight there's a fundraiser for a friend's theatre company, a sort of anti-Valentines Day party, but I think I might just blow it off. I'm kind of enjoying my hiatus from the bar.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.