DUTCH GIRL




I don't want to be here today.

2005-02-15 - 11:31 a.m.

Well, we ended up going to the fundraiser after all. Not so much fun. There were all these "acts" (it was kind of a cabaret type thing) and they were mostly all really bad. T and I wouldn't have stayed (he kept saying that the bad art was damaging his soul), but the folks who run this little company are mostly all friends of mine, so we hid out way in the back of the bar and played cards all night. Round after round of Asshole. While trying to drown out the bar performances.

Around midnight, T decided that the only way to purge his system of the bad art was to pound back some really expensive scotch. Luckily I was drinking coke and was able to drag his ass out of there around quarter to one, so we got home and into bed at a semi-reasonable hour.

Here's a little frustration for you.

I accidently let my driver's license expire (on my birthday at the end of December). Oops. So on Sunday I figure out that I've been driving around for 2 months with an expired license. I go to renew it this morning and the guy tells me I have to go to my Doctor to have this form filled out because of my diabetes. Shit.

I take the form away and look at it and it seems to pretty clearly state, to my mind, that I only have to have a Doctor's signiture if I'm insulin dependant. Which I'm not. So I take it back to the guy. He reads it over several times and looks puzzled. Shows it to his superior. They both puzzle over it. (The guy's no rocket scientist. He previously looked at my license, which expired in late December 2004, and tried to tell me it had been expired for over a year.) Finally he comes back with the form and says "Well, I'm not sure what this part here means (The part that says you only need a Doctor's signature if you answer "yes" to being insulin dependant) but my boss says you have to get this form filled out by your doctor."

PAIN. IN. THE. ASS.

Now I have to go to my Doctor at 8am tomorrow and pay extra money to have her fill out the form that says I don't need her to fill out the form.

Oh well. I guess it's better than letting people who have serious medical problems drive around and kill people. I guess. It just pisses me off because it's a hassle.

And now I'm cranky cause I really wanted to call in sick today (and stay home and try to finish reading the last 3 plays I have to read and make notes on) but I came in because Shanny was going to come to the show and we were going to have lunch, but she just called me and isn't going to make it, so I could have stayed home and instead I'm here. Crap!

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.