DUTCH GIRL




Who needs sleep anyway?

2005-03-05 - 11:15 p.m.

Thank God, the weirdness of the birthday party didn't happen tonight. R called me this morning to tell me they had to call it off because Claire was sick. Yay. (Not that she's sick. I'm not that mean. Just "Yay" that I didn't have to go.) It was looking even weirder as Trev couldn't make it until about 10:30, so it would have just been him, her, me and Shari. But he did threaten me with "we'll do it another night". Yee Gads. Is the man insane?

It's also a good thing it got called off because I really needed the night off to chill. After my 4 hours of sleep Thursday night and then a fairly busy day Friday, instead of staying in last night and recovering, what did the stupid little Dutch Girl do? She went out again and stayed up until about 3:30. And drank a lot more beer.

I woke up about 9 this morning, feeling like a sack of shit, and basically unable to get to sleep again until around 11, when R promptly called to tell me about the party being cancelled. He was all "Did I just wake you up?" and I wittly replied "uh huh", to which he answered "but it's 11:30". Dude, have you not met me before? I'm the girl who routinely stays up til ungodly hours, often with you. Don't try to guilt me for catching sleep when I can.

It was kind of a weird night in the bar last night. It's Blitz weekend, which is the end of a big festival at one of the theatres here, where theatre folk come in to town for the weekend from all over to catch the plays, and then they all crowd into the bar after. Actually, there were less out-of-town folks there last night, but about 75% of the local community. And I guess everyone's heard how my board refused my request to direct the show. Ryan confessed to me that he was so pissed when I told him I couldn't do it (it's his company) that he was telling everyone what assholes my board members are, before it occured to him that maybe he should be keeping it to himself. Oh well. I don't really care, except for the part where about 25 people came up to me last night going "Wow, I heard what happened. Are you okay". I don't even want to talk about it anymore. And to top it all off, the gal he hired to replace me was having a design meeting about the show when I first arrived in the bar and it felt like seeing your ex with the new girl for the first time.

To top off the strangeness, I was getting seriously hit on all night by a gay man (well, maybe not 100% gay, I guess). He kept telling me how sexy he thinks I am and how good I smelled and how soft my hair is and how much he likes my lips. And making references to making out in his car. As if my life isn't strange and complicated enough. Thanks, but no thanks.

So tonight is your basic lying on the couch watching TV kind of a night. With hopefully more than 4 hours of sleep, so that I can accomplish all the shit on my plate for tomorrow, like laundry, some paper work, reading this book I picked up Friday about how to make a not-for-profit board more functional and going to see the dress rehearsal in the evening.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.