DUTCH GIRL




no longer sleep deprived, but a little grumpy

2005-03-08 - 10:55 a.m.

Nobody ever signs my guest book or leaves me notes anymore. It's making me sad (and suspicious about the idea that I really am boring, as I suspected).

Now that I have that little whining complaint out of the way -

Can we just talk about the weather for a minute?

Yesterday, it was 16 C by the early afternoon. The normal temperature for this time of year is 1 C. It felt more like May than March. And then it rained. And then it hailed. Insane. And it's supposed to stay that way for the rest of the week.

Here's the thing. I like the warm weather. It's soooo much nicer than the usual March blizzards of years past. However, frankly, it does make me worry about global warming. Especially living in this province, where so many people work in the oil patch and everyone from the provincial government on down lives in total denial. I was actually at a meeting the other day (fundraising planning with a number of my board members, who work in the oil patch). Someone mentioned the weather and they all started in about how tired they get of people mentioning global warming and how they don't believe it, and how even if they did, all the stats are lies and it's not the fault of the oil industry. It's like they're brain-washed or aliens or something. Or like all those people who say the holocaust never happen.

Face the facts folks. The planet is getting warmer. And it's due, at least in some large measure, so greedy industrialist who don't want to spend the time and money to address the issues. And it's not helped by fat assed people like our provincial premier, who doesn't even want to be part of Kyoto, because he's up the butt of so many rich oil men. And sure, it all seems really nice right now, when we have a milder winter and record high temperatures in March, but you gotta know there's going to be a down side at some point.

Wow. I'm very pessimistic today. I should just go out and enjoy the sunshine.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.