DUTCH GIRL




My weekend.

2005-03-14 - 12:21 p.m.

Late night drunken entries always make me cringe when I read them the next day, but they're FAR FAR better than late night drunken phone calls or emails, so I'm praising myself for using an appropriate outlet rather than beating myself up for foolish drunken expression.

Saturday involved a lot of beer.

Sunday involved a lot of sleeping. Which was good.

In the evening, the hubby took me out for dinner to a fancy-ass downtown sea food place. The food was okay, but not brilliant, and very expensive. $90 for the two of us for a small appetizer calamari, a bowl of clam chowder, some garlic shrimp, one crab cake, one glass of white wine and two beers. $90. I don't think we'll be rushing off to that restaurant again any time soon.

After dinner, we attended a rocking concert. Eric Bibb and Habib Koite. Eric is a friend of T's, a smooth blues performer from New York. He opened for Habib Koite, a Mali performer who is decended from a noble line of Khassonke griots (the singer/song writer/Story-tellers of Mali). He looks like some kind of West African god, and his band KICKS ASS! His story is so cool, too. When he graduated from high school, he went off to college somewhere in Africa, to study math and science, and his family phoned him and begged him to drop out and come home to take up his family heritage and his birth-right - being a musician. How often does that happen??

The concert was really great, especially when Eric came out and played with Habib and the band, doing this totally cool fushion of American blues and African music. I could have sat there and funked out all night.

Today is an exciting blend of meetings and budget preparation for next year. Mmmm ... my work is SOOO fun right now. Don't you wish you were me?

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.