DUTCH GIRL




Nothing like an angry lesbian.

2005-05-05 - 4:20 p.m.

Blah. I so want to go home. I ended up going out last night and drinking far too much rum and diet coke and I feel like a big ol' pile of doggy crap, but I'm stuck here until my GM comes back from a meeting, so that I can get a cheque from her.

I went down to the theatre bar to meet some friends about 9:30, and it turned out there was this event for this week long lesbian festival, happening in the bar. Something called HerFest or something like that. A room full of lesbians, but not at all like The L Word. They had shown some films earlier and then done some speeches and spoken word stuff, and then a singer. Apparently, earlier, the bartender had been the only man in the place. But it wasn't a closed event or anything. Eventually, I guess a few other folks came in, people from the performing arts centre, and sat in the far back corner, but they were making some noise during the speeches and someone shouted "Tell the aliens in the back to shut the fuck up!" What the hell is that about?

And Jamie (the bartender) told me when I got there that he had been getting pretty offended at the angry male bashing that had been going on.

I don't get it. How can you be fighting against prejudice and fighting to be accepted for who you are, and turn around and label a whole half of the population with one broad stroke. "Men are the enemy".

Now I know some men have done some bad things over the history of the world. But so have some women. And the George W's of the world can be labeled as bad bad men. But it pisses me off to be in a room full of self-righteous angry lesbians who see all men and most straight woman as bad, evil and wrong just by vurtue of who they like to sleep with. Don't they get the irony??

Anywho ... I can go home now, so I'm gonna. End rant.

Hasta la vista kids.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.