DUTCH GIRL




Today's a mental health day.

2005-05-09 - 11:33 a.m.

I've elected to make this an extra day off. I decided that after working 18 days in a row, one day off just wasn't enough. So after going to the gym this morning and sweating like a champ, I came home and phoned work and told them I wasn't coming in today. Instead, I plan to go back to bed with my book. And then maybe this afternoon, I'll clean the kitchen or something, just so the day isn't totally wasted.

I actually had a very nice visit with my mom yesterday, which was nice. I slept until about noon, and then got up and had some breakfast. She came by around 2 and we took ourselves to the farmer's market for a little shopping (fresh fruit, vegis, some delicious italian cheese, some diabetic friendly fudge and two delicious pot pies, one with shrimp and one with chicken and mushrooms, which I had for dinner - plus a couple of second hand books). After shopping, we had coffee and a really good chat. I told her about the depression thing and the meds I've started and how much better I feel. I was able to explain to her that, back a few months ago, when she was freaking out at me because she hadn't seen me in a while and I never called, it was because I was so overwhelmed with life, and not because I don't love her. It made her feel so much better to know what's been going on with me. My mother can be so wonderfully loving and supportive when she's not being crazy. I wish I could have her like that all the time. She told me all about her trip to Victoria and her discovery, and the age of 65, that she can actually travel alone. It's given her renewed energy and excitement and now she's planning her next trip.

After the market, I came home and ate my little meat pies and curled up on the couch with a movie, and then headed off to bed around 11:30 with one of the new books.

This morning, my arms and shoulders hurt a little from all the push-ups I just did, but I'm so proud of myself for the discipline I've had about the gym, and despite my worry about how much it's costing ($90 a week for my trainer, if I want to go 3 times a week), I'm determined to stick with it until I drop off the 30 pounds I put back on this winter. And if all goes well, I'll add on another 20 to that goal and be down to a weight I haven't seen in about 10 years.

Now it's book time. I hope you all have as nice a Monday as I'm planning to have.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.